Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Council Executive > Communications Office > Press Releases 2022 > September

23/09/2022 - Donegal Joint Policing Committee were pleased to host the Donegal Garda Youth Awards on Friday, 23 September 2022.


The Awards celebrated outstanding young people between the ages of 13 and 21 years. The Awards recognised the good work being done by young people in every community in Donegal. The application process opened in February with nominations invited under four different Award Categories.


Chief Superintendent Terry Mc Ginn stated “An Garda Síochána in Donegal are delighted to facilitate the Garda Youth Awards for 2022 in conjunction with the Donegal Joint Policing Committee. The standard of nominations this year was again extremely high. I am grateful to those who took the time to make nominations as without their input the competition it would not be the success that it is. I congratulate everyone who was nominated, their contribution has enriched their respective communities and I have no doubt they will continue to offer positive contribution’s in the future. Finally, to the overall winners I offer my most sincere congratulations and very best wishes for the future.”


At the Awards Ceremony held in County House, Lifford, the Award Winners were announced and presented with their Awards by Judge Éiteáin Cunningham, Chairperson of the Donegal Garda Youth Awards Adjudication Committee.


Cllr Gerry McMonagle, Chairperson, Donegal Joint Policing Committee, paid tribute to all of the nominees and said that “the Donegal Joint Policing Committee is delighted to be associated with this Award Scheme for 2022.  These young people epitomise the integrity and social awareness of the majority of the young people of our county and give us all great hope for the future.  Through their efforts they have made an important and valuable contribution to the communities they live in and it is important that all of the nominees, particularly the award winners, are commended and celebrated”.


The Award Winners were as follows:-

Individual Award

Josh Marley


Special Achievement

Manus Doherty


Group Award

Transition Year Scoil Mhuire Buncrana & Crana College Buncrana


Community Safety Award

Allan McCarron & Cormac Brady


The winners will now be considered with regards to representing the Donegal Division at the National Youth Awards which will take place in November 2022

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO