Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Council Executive > Communications Office > Press Releases > Award for Killybegs Fire Brigade

National Bravery Award for Killybegs Fire Brigade

National Bravery Award

Pictured at Farmleigh House, Phoenix Park, Dublin for the Comhairle na Mire Gaile - the Deeds of Bravery Council Awards for 2015 was Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, TD with (l-r): Kilybegs station officer, Kevin Conwell, Shaun Curran, A/Chief Fire Officer for Donegal, Joseph McTaggart and Asst Chief Officer, Kevin McGarvey. Photo: Maxwells


Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, TD, presented awards in recognition of outstanding acts of bravery at a national ceremony in Farmleigh House last Friday.


The Killybegs Fire Brigade was among those honoured for their gallant efforts in rescuing an elderly lady from a blazing property in the town back in November, 2013.

The honours are awarded by Comhairle na Mire Gaile – the Deeds of Bravery Council – which was established in 1947 to provide for suitable recognition by the State of deeds of bravery.


The Council, which is chaired by the Ceann Comhairle, includes the Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann, the Lord Mayor of Dublin, the Lord Mayor of Cork, the Garda Commissioner, the President of the Association of City & County Councils and the Chairman of the Irish Red Cross.

The Council may award medals in either Gold, Silver or Bronze categories. Certificates of recognition may also be awarded. The Council hopes that this high profile ceremony will draw deserved attention to the brave actions of the recipients and heighten awareness of this national awards scheme generally.

Congratulating the recipients, Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, TD, said: “It is truly an honour to present awards to the incredibly brave individuals we welcome to Farmleigh House today. Their courage and selflessness make them examples to us all and I believe that it is vital that such acts are recognised publically. These men, women and children of Ireland went to the aid of others, at great risk to their own safety and we salute them for their outstanding deeds.”

A number of other Donegal recipients were also awarded certificates at Friday’s ceremony. They are:

•    Staff Nurse Nigel Harkin (Donegal)
•    Staff Nurse Noreen McLaughlin (Donegal)
•    Staff Nurse Mariosa Shiels (Donegal)
•    Staff Nurse Hugh McCauley (Donegal)

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO