Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Council Executive > Communications Office > Press Releases > Proud sponsors of the Donegal Sports Star Awards

3/11/2015 - Donegal County Council proud sponsors of the Donegal Sports Star Awards since 1979

Donegal Sports Star Award 2015 nominations launch 379 x 269

Jim Sheridan who won the soccer award in 1978 with Cllr. Ciaran Brogan, Cathaoirleach, Donegal County Council, Neil Martin Chair of Donegal Sports Star Awards Committee, Seamus Neely Chief Executive, Donegal County Council and Danea Herne first lady overall Donegal Sport Star Award winner.


At last nights launch of the 2015 Donegal Sports Star Awards nominations, Cathaoirleach Cllr. Ciaran Brogan announced that Donegal County Council is once again delighted to be the exclusive sponsor of the Donegal Sports Star Awards.


“This is a special year for the Donegal Sports Star Awards” said Cllr. Brogan “and we in Donegal County Council are delighted to be once again the exclusive sponsor of these awards”. 


2015 marks the 40th year of the Donegal Sports Star Awards and Donegal County Council has been associated with the awards since 1979 sponsoring the schools award before becoming the main sponsor in 1997.


Cllr. Brogan paid tribute to the foresight of a small number of people who in 1975 introduced the first Sports Star Awards to Donegal saying that “the fact that the Donegal Sports Star Awards is the highlight of the calendar year for many people involved in sport in Donegal and the honour of receiving this type of recognition from your own peers in your own home county continues to be a very special occasion for even the most recognised sports person is a wonderful tribute to the small number of people who in 1975 had the foresight to establish these Awards”.


He added “To be nominated is an achievement in itself, to win an award has to be a very special moment in the life of a Donegal sports person. For me and Donegal County Council the schools have been a very important part of the Donegal Sports Star Awards over the past four decades.   So I’m delighted to have the honour of presenting the six awards that will be presented in the schools category”.


Seamus Neely, Chief Executive of Donegal County Council joined with the Cathaoirleach in expressing his delight that the Council is once again the exclusive sponsors of these awards.


“What is also special about these awards is that they not only recognise the achievements of our most talented sports people but also of the people who have helped them along the way from coaches and volunteers at underage levels to families, friends, teachers and all those who have played a significant role in enabling these achievements.”


He added “we in the Council recognise the value of sport in our county.  In building communities, in supporting the development of our children and young people and in promoting healthy and active lifestyles for people all ages.


“I would encourage all sporting organisations who have achieved success on the team and individual front to get their nominations in before the deadline date of Friday 27th November.”


For more information on making your nomination visit or follow on Facebook.




Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO