Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Council Executive > Communications Office > Press Releases > Termon Ladies Civic Reception

Termon ladies a shining example for club and county

Termon Ladies Civic Reception 2 379 x 269

Members of the Termon Ladies GAA team admiring the gift presented to the squad from Donegal County Council in recognition of their achievements since their formation in 1992.


The achievements the Termon Ladies GAA team is a shining example of how a rural community can bond, thrive and ultimately succeed.


That was the message from speakers at a Civic Reception for the team which was hosted by Donegal County Council at the County House in Lifford last Tuesday.


The team was honoured for its incredible string of local and national successes since its formation back in 1992 including the coveted All-Ireland Senior Club title which they won last year.


Indeed since the announcement of the honour, the Termon ladies picked up another national title securing the All-Ireland Gaeltacht title at Comortas Peile na Gaeltachta in Ardara last weekend.


At Tuesday’s event Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council, Cllr John Campbell outlined the string of successes which culminated in the national senior club title saying the side had been great ambassadors for the county.


Chief Executive, Seamus Neely added the team was an example of how a rural community could work together and achieve targets they had set for themselves. It also highlighted the importance of sport and co-operation at community level.


Representatives of each political grouping on the Council added their congratulations namely Cllr Michael McBride (Independents) who initially proposed the reception; Cllr Ciaran Brogan (Fianna Fail); Cllr Jimmy Kavanagh (Fine Gael) and Cllr Mick Quinn (Sinn Fein).


The Termon speakers, Danny O’Donnell, Geraldine McLaughlin and Francie Friel all returned thanks to Donegal County Council for hosting the reception and thanked the local authority for their support over the years.


After the presentation of the commemorative gifts by the Cathaoirleach, an informal reception followed with refreshments at the nearby Old Courthouse Bistro.


Termon Ladies Civic Reception

Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council, Cllr John Campbell presents the scroll to mark the civic reception for the Termon Ladies GAA team to (l-r) team captain, Geraldine McLaughlin; club chairman Danny O’Donnell and team manager Francie Friel at the event.



Termon’s Roll of Honour

Termon Ladies were formed in 1992. They won the Donegal Junior Championship the following year, 2003 and the Intermediate Championship in 2006. They won their first Donegal Senior Championship in 2010, following which they went on to win the Ulster Championship - beating reigning  All-Ireland Champions Donnaghmoyne in the final.


Between 2010 and 2013 the team won three Donegal Senior Championships, four Donegal Division 1 league titles, four County Gaeltacht championships, five All-Ireland Gaeltacht Championships, including the latest last weekend and one Ulster Championship. 


2014 was the year the ladies won every cup available to them in Ireland. They began in May winning their fifth County Gaeltacht title in a row. Then came yet another All-Ireland Gaeltacht title in Galway. They won the Division one Donegal league - again the fifth in a row.


In the championship, they beat Glenfin in the Donegal senior final. On then to Ulster were they beat the Cavan champions and then the Down champions to set up a final spot with Donnaghmoyne from Monaghan who they beat to be crowned Ulster champions.


They then travelled to Galway to play Connacht champions Clonbern in the All-Ireland semi-final and won.


The All-Ireland final was played in Tuam Co. Galway on November 30 last against Munster champions, Mourneabbey.


The Cork side - who were chasing a unique treble having previously been All-Ireland junior and intermediate champions - led by four points at half time but didn’t bank on the Termon side turning up the pressure in the second half to run out winners by five points at the finish.


The Termon ladies were crowned Senior All Ireland champions after defeating them 3-12 to 1-13. 


The panel and management are: 


Laura Gallagher

Emer Gallagher

Olive McCafferty

Petra McCafferty

Maria Carr

Nicole McLaughlin

Therese McCafferty

Shannon McGroddy

Roisin McCafferty

Lauren McElwaine

Sharon McLaughlin

Grainne McDaid

Dara Kelly

Roisin Friel

Geraldine McLaughlin

Maureen O’Donnell

Niamh Friel 

Hollie McDaid 

Anna Gallagher 

Shauna Kelly 

Claire Mc Dermott 

Jamie Lee Murray 

Lucy O Flynn 


Management: Francie Friel, Trevor Alcorn, Paul McDaid 




Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO