Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Services > Roads Service > Roads Service Publications > Speed Limit 2015 - Housing Estate Draft Documents

Speed Limit Review 2015 - Housing Estates

Donegal County Council as part of a pilot scheme set up to coincide with circular RSD 01/2014 issued by the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport have identified a number of social housing estates which we propose to introduce a 30km/hr 'Slow Zone'.


To aid County Councils with the roll out of 'Slow Zones' in Local Residential and Housing Estate Roads the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport have compiled the 'Guidelines for setting and managing speed limits in Ireland'.


Under section of the 'Guidelines for setting and managing speed limits in Ireland' DTTaS instruct how the ‘Slow Zone’ should be implemented. ‘Slow Zones’ should be developed and implemented as a Local Authority supported community based approach to reduce the speed limit to 30 km/h and to add safety measures within a select area in order to change driver behaviour. The ultimate goal of a ‘Slow Zone’ is to lower the incidence and severity of crashes and to enhance quality of life.

‘Slow Zones’ will be established in self-contained areas that consist of Local Roads. Gateways will announce the entry and exit from a ‘Slow Zone’. The zone itself will be self-enforcing, reduced-speed area and will be an area with low traffic volumes and minimal through traffic.


As indicated in the first paragraph and as per the above explanation Donegal County Council have used the legislative provision detailed in the 'Guidelines for setting and managing speed limits in Ireland' and Section 9(4) of the Road Traffic Act 2004 to draft the required bye laws to create the aforementioned 'Slow Zones'. The estates selected are as follows:


Donegal Municipal District

Glenties Municipal District

Killybegs - Emerald Drive  Ailt an Chorrain - An Choill 
Bruckless - St. Theresa's  An Craoslach - Birch Hill 
Bundoran - Elaghmore  Doiri Beaga / An Bun Beag - Ailt Aobhinn 
Ballyshannon - Saimer Drive 

Ard an Rátha - Radharc an Gleanna 

Ballyshannon - Erne Dale Heights 

An Fál Carrach - Radharc na Mara 

Donegal Town - Mill Race Crescent  Na Gleannta - Clós Naomh Chonaill 

Inishowen Municipal District

Letterkenny Municipal District

Malin - Radharc Na Trá Breige 

An Cheathrú Chaol - Knockalla 

Greencastle - An Teampall Maol  Ramelton - An Srúthan 
Muff - Craig Park  Milford - Radharc na Cille 
Clonmany - Gaddyduff  Letterkenny - Cruach Mor
Buncrana - Pairc Na hAluine  Letterkenny - Leitir Ard 
Manorcunningham - Abbey Park  Letterkenny - Cashel Park

Stranorlar Municipal District

Ballybofey - Glenpatrick Park  
Convoy - Townparks  
Ballybofey - Cois Na Finn  
Convoy - Oak Park  
Lifford - Beechwood Grove  
Raphoe - Meadowhill  


In order to provide clarity Donegal County Council have illustrated the proposed amendments to the ‘Road Traffic(Speed Limit)(County of Donegal) Bye-Laws 2011-2012’ in the form of graphical maps. See the links below for further information.


Public Consultation commences officially on Thursday the 10/09/2015 and finishes on Friday the 09/10/2015. During this period representation can be made in writing to the addresses below.


Road Traffic Special Speed Limits, 

Housing Estates Pilot Project,

The County Secretariat Office,

Donegal County Council,


Co. Donegal




Speed Limit 2015 - Housing Estate Draft Bye Law Amendments


Speed Limit 2015 - Housing Estate Explanatory Document


Speed Limit 2015 - Housing Estate Slow Zone Drawings (245MB)

Rate this Page

Select an option below


Map Services

Map Portal

  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO