Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > Communications Office > Press Releases Archive > Press Releases

28/05/18 Danny McDaid to be honoured with Freedom of the County this evening

Danny McDaid

Danny McDaid who will be honoured with the Freedom of the County this evening.


Donegal County Council is set to honour Glenswilly man and two time Olympian athlete Danny McDaid this evening when he receives the Freedom of the County at a special Civic Reception in the County House in Lifford.


Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council Cllr. Gerry McMonagle is delighted to be in a position to honour Danny McDaid in this way saying “Danny is without doubt one of our greatest sporting heros in Donegal.  He has represented his country and competed in the ‘greatest games on earth’ and brought great pride to the country, the county and most importantly to his friends and family”.


Danny has represented his country in the Olympics on two separate occasions – in Munich in 1972 and in Montreal in 1976.  In fact he was the first Irishman to cross the finish line at the 1972 games.


He is also a four time National Marathon Champion.  He took part in nine World Championships, first competing for Ireland in the International Cross Country Championships in Madrid in 1969.  He captained the Irish Senior Cross Country team from 1975 to 1981.


Danny will be the ninth recipient of a badge and pin specially commissioned by the Council. The badge (and lapel pin) is reserved exclusively for those on whom the Freedom of the County is conferred.


Other recipients of the Freedom of County Donegal include Seamus Coleman, Anthony Molloy, Phil Coulter, Shay Given, Patsy McGonagle, Daniel O’Donnell, Packie Bonner and the 28th Infantry Battalion

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO