Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > Communications Office > Press Releases Archive > Press Releases

13/11/18 Launch of Donegal Garda Youth awards in association with the Donegal Joint Policing Committee

Garda Awards Launch

Liam Ward, Director of Service, Donegal County Council, Cllr Gerry McMonagle, Chair Donegal Joint Policing Committee, Lawrence McManus, Community Representative and Chief Superintendent Terry McGinn pictured with elected members, community representatives and members of An Garda Síochána at the launch of the Donegal Garda Youth Awards in the County House in Lifford yesterday afternoon.


An Garda Síochána in Donegal is pleased to launch the Donegal Garda Youth Awards, in association with the Donegal Joint Policing Committee.


The Awards celebrate outstanding young people between the ages of 13 and 21 years. An Garda Síochána in Donegal and the Joint Policing Committee recognise that a lot of good work is being done by young people in every community in Donegal. Awards will be considered for nominated young people who by their presence make their communities a better place to live in.


Inspector Shaun Grant in Milford, who is PRO for the Youth Awards, commented that the nomination process is open to everyone, so if you know of a young person who is committed to making a difference to their community, please put them forward, as every nominee will receive a certificate, even if they do not win an award. This way, all nominees are recognised for their efforts, and the certificate is a very valuable item to have on a young person’s CV into the future.


This year the Donegal Garda Youth Awards in association with the Donegal Joint Policing Committee will take place in early 2019.  There are 4 Overall Awards, as follows:



Making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live.



Groups of 2 or more, making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live.



Overcome difficult circumstances, defied all the odds, and whose commitment deserves recognition.



Through a crime prevention or safety initiative / innovation, have made their community a safer place to live.


All categories are for young people aged between 13 and 21 years on 31st August 2018.


Each Garda Division in the country will nominate one winner in each of the above four categories, to represent their Division at the National Youth Awards which will take place in April 2019.


The Group Award category applies for groups of two or more young people whose combined efforts have contributed positively to their communities. The Special Achievement category is open to any young person who has defied the odds, or overcome difficult circumstances, and whose commitment deserves recognition.


The nomination forms are now available from any Garda Station in the Donegal Garda Division, and also online on the Joint Policing Committee Website here. Application forms will also be distributed by the Community Gardai in each local Garda District. Electronic versions of the nomination form are available on request from [email protected] 


In launching this year’s Awards, Chief Superintendent Terry Mc Ginn, remarked “We wish to recognise the sacrifices made by these young people, as they contribute to their community, both at a local level, and also in wider areas. An Garda Síochána would like to pay tribute to the Joint Policing Committee for their assistance with the launch and hosting of the Donegal Youth Awards.”              


Nomination forms can be submitted by post to the Chief Superintendents Office, Donegal Garda National Youth Awards, Letterkenny Garda Station, New Line Road, Co. Donegal F92 PC03.Forms can also be emailed to: [email protected]


The closing date for nominations to be received is Friday 14th December 2018.


Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO