Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > Communications Office > Press Releases Archive > Press Releases

13/01/2017 - 2017 Tip O Neill Irish Diaspora Awards Nomination Process Opens



2017 Tip O’Neill Irish Diaspora Awards Nomination Process Opens

2016 Irish Diaspora Award recipient Chris Matthews with Mr. Joe McHugh Minister of State for the Diaspora and International Development




Donegal County Council is delighted to announce the official opening of the Tip O’Neill Irish Diaspora Awards nomination process for 2017.



Here in Donegal we are very proud of our strong connections with the wider global family across the world through the broader Donegal Diaspora project.  The Tip O’Neill Irish Diaspora Award is another mechanism to honour members of our diaspora who have contributed to their new communities whilst retaining strong links to their homeland.    



The Tip O’Neill Irish Diaspora Award was initiated in 2012 as a means of commemorating the centenary of the birth of the late Tip O’Neill who was a liberal Democrat and an influential member of the US House of Representatives.  His maternal grandparents came from County Donegal. Throughout his long and distinguished career, he spoke to and for both the Irish community and all vulnerable residents in the United States. His vision and his determination to make Ireland a better place were crucial in the negotiations that led to the Anglo Irish Agreement in 1985 and the establishment of the International Fund for Ireland.



The Award ceremony which is held annually in Donegal, part of the broader Diaspora project, has become a highlight of Donegal County Council’s calendar of events.  The Award is presented on an annual basis to a member of the broad Irish Diaspora who has achieved prominence or recognition in the area of business, commerce, industry, education, politics, finance or sport.



Previous recipients include journalist and publisher Niall O’Dowd, former Governor of Montana Brian Schweitzer, Senator Therese Murray former president of the Massachusetts Senate, U.S. based philanthropist Ms. Loretta Brennan Glucksman and the most recent recipient was the well known U.S. political commentator Chris Matthews.



For further information please visit where you find details of the nomination process.  



Please note the closing date for receipt of completed nomination forms is Wednesday 31st May 2017.





Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO