Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > CommunicationsOffice > Press Releases > Donegal Civil Defence raises funds for IMNDA

19/07/2017 Donegal Civil Defence raises funds for IMNDA with Mount Errigal Climb.

Civil Defence IMNDA presentation

Pictured at the presentation to IMNDA are: Back Row L-R; Eimear Byrne, Paddy Byrne, Joanne McGroary, (Instructor), Paidin Doherty (Area Commander – Inishowen), Denis Gallagher, (Instructor), Ruth Moffett, Pat Flynn, John Quinn, (Area Commander – Stranorlar), Donal Bonner, Sarah McGinty. Front Row L-R: Mrs. Thelma Cunningham, Ms. Edel Flynn, Civil Defence Officer, Mr. John Cunningham, Ms. Lorna Given IMNDA, Ms. Jackie McCrudden (Area Commander – Letterkenny).


On Friday 15th July Donegal Civil Defence presented Ms. Lorna Given from Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association (IMNDA) with a cheque for €4,856.50, proceeds from the climb, at a function held in the Civil Defence Headquarters, Stranorlar.


31 climbers including members of the Civil Defence from Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Cavan and Tipperary reached the summit to raise much needed funds for the IMNDA following the diagnosis of one of Donegal’s long serving members and friends within the organisation, Mr. John Cunningham, Carndonagh, who has been diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease in recent years.


John joined Civil Defence on 15th February 2007 and has been an active member ever since. Since joining, John has been a significant role model for young and the not so young, within the Auxiliary Fire Service (AFS). He worked hard at setting up of the AFS station in Carndonagh, has worked alongside the Donegal Fire Service at gorse fires and was a member of the winning National Civil Defence AFS Pump Drill Team in 2008. Despite his diagnosis, John continues as a member of Civil Defence and continues to give valuable service to his community in any way possible.


Donegal Civil Defence would like to thank all the climbers and helpers on the day.


Climbers on the day were:

Donegal - Paidin Doherty, Denis Gallagher, Joanne McGroary, Eimear Byrne, Paddy Byrne, Tianan Doherty, Alice Duffy, Edel Flynn, Pat Flynn, Davy Leonard, Phonsie McAteer, Sarah McGinty, Ruth Moffett, Paul Rooney, Paul Dunnion and Donal Bonner

Leitrim - Brian Sweeney, Patricia Sweeney

Sligo - Darren McGough,, Brendan McCarrick, Allan McGloin

Cavan -  John Maguire, Jackie Eakins, Ciaran McCarthy, Ciara Simmons, Aine McGovern, Crezi Smith

Tipperary - Malachy Colison, Brian Ely, PJ Graham, Shane Kerwick, Gary Shanahan).



Rate this Page

Select an option below


Map Services

Map Portal

  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO