Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > CommunicationsOffice > Press Releases > Fire Fighters receive Long Service A

20/11/2014 - Seven Donegal Fire Fighters receive Long Service Awards

Last week seven Donegal Fire Fighters received Long Service Awards from Mr. Paudie Coffey T.D., the Minister of State at the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government at a ceremony in the Red Cow Morans Hotel, Dublin.


These awards are presented every two years and include two awards, one for 20 years service and one for thirty years service. This year there were six members of Donegal Fire Service eligible for the 20 year awards and one member eligible for the 30 year award.


The 20 Year Award was presented to Firefighter Vincent Butler, Carndonagh Fire Brigade, Firefighter Philip Doherty, Buncrana Fire Brigade, Firefighter Neil Gilliland, Bundoran Fire Brigade, Firefighter John Griffin, Stranorlar Fire Brigade, Sub Station Officer Don Magee, Buncrana Fire Brigade and Firefighter Robert Quinn, Killybegs Fire Brigade.


The 30 Year Award was presented to Firefighter Ronnie White, Letterkenny Fire Brigade.


Speaking at the ceremony, Minister Coffey said “The rationale behind these awards remains as valid as for their launch in 1992: it is the State’s way of honouring local authority fire service personnel for ‘being there’ over all the years, for being prepared to respond to calls for help, at all times, and in all weathers.”


He added “I am mindful that the Fire Fighters here today provide a core frontline service which is critical to public safety and I am grateful to have this opportunity to personally express my appreciation to you for the vital contribution you make to the safety of our society.”


Cathaoirleach Cllr. John Campbell also congratulated the Fire Service Personnel on reaching their respective milestones saying “these awards are a great opportunity to say thank you to our own Fire Service Personnel for their commitment and dedication to keeping our communities safe in Donegal”.


Acting Chief Fire Officer Mr. Joseph McTaggart joined with the Cathaoirleach saying “on my own behalf and on behalf of Donegal Fire Service I would like to congratulate the recipients of the awards for their achievement and to thank them for their many years of service”.




Rate this Page

Select an option below


Map Services

Map Portal

  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO