Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > Communications Office > Press Releases > Sliabh Sneacht Centre to be officially opened

Sliabh Sneacht Centre to be officially opened today by Tommy O’Neill

Drumfries’ new state-of-the-art Sliabh Sneacht Heritage Centre will officially be opened today by Tommy O’Neill the oldest son of the late U.S. Speaker Tip O’Neill.


The new centre stands on the site of the old DrumfriesSchool, built in 1838, one of the first schools to be erected in Inishowen after the abolition of the penal laws.


The state of the art facility boasts many features that will make it an attractive location in the heart of Inishowen for both community use and as a training and information centre for many other organisations.


The Centre includes a large multi-functional hall with viewing balcony and kitchen facilities.  There is a second hall upstairs that can be used for various events such as delivering training, holding information events or other community activities.


One attraction at the centre will be the heritage room on the ground floor, to be named ‘The Tip O’ Neill Suite’.


This reflects the fact that Tip O’ Neill’s’ Grandmother, Eunice Fullerton, was born in a nearby townland in 1850 and attended school in Drumfries and also acknowledges the support that the O’Neill Family have given throughout the development of the Centre.


The official opening of Sliabh Sneacht Centre, Drumfries will take place today at 4pm.


Everyone welcome to attend.

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO