Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > Communications Office > Press Releases from Jan 2020 > Pride of Place Awards 2020

16/12/2020 - Pride of Place Awards 2020

The Community Wellbeing Award from the Pride of Place competition for 2020 being presented by the Chairman of Inishowen Municipal District, Cllr Albert Doherty to Helen Nolan from Spraoi agus Spórt, also in the photograph is the Donegal County Council liaison person for the Pride of Place Awards, Charles Sweeney .


Spraoi agus Spórt were successful in winning the Pride of Place Award category 7 entitled Community Wellbeing Initiative. 


IPB Pride of Place Awards is an all island competition that recognises improvements made by local communities to create civic pride in their area.  The competition focus is about people coming together to shape, change and enjoy all that is good about their area. Due to the global health pandemic, The 18th Annual IPB Pride of Place Awards took place on Saturday 21st November  with an  on line virtual   ceremony presented by Marty Morrissey. The Community Development & Planning directorate would like to thank the Elected Members for their Development Fund Initiative contribution to the Pride of Place Awards  Initiative in Donegal.


Marty Morrissey announced that the judging panel said that the category winner was exceptional,  a dynamic organisation with a significant record of solid achievement.  The judges were extremely impressed with the sense of purpose, pride of place, flexibility to change, passion, organisation, professionalism, inclusiveness and ability to expand their services to other communities.  This is a leading social enterprise truly aligned in every respect to the needs of the community.

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO