Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > Communications Office > Press Releases from Jan 2020 > Winner of Primary School Art Competition

14/04/21 - Caitlin’s winning entry highlights need for motorists to 'Slow Down'

Ms. Eimear Toland, Class Teacher, Scoil Treasa Naofa, Malin and Caitlin McLaughlin, winner.


Caitlin’s entry highlights the need for all motorists to `Slow Down` in Road Safety Art Competition


The Donegal Road Safety Working Group and Finn Harps Football Club announced the winners in their recent Primary School Road Safety Art competition.


The winning drawing was submitted by Caitlin McLaughlin, Scoil Treasa Naofa, Malin.


The winning entry will feature at Kiernan’s Supermarkets at Newtowncunningham, Ramelton and Drumkeen as well as in a prominent place in Caitlin’s home town of Malin.


Donegal Road Safety Officer, Brian O’Donnell, praised all the schools for their participation in this very important Road Safety initiative. He said, “I would like to thank all the schools for getting behind this exciting competition. The entries received were of a very high standard but Caitlin’s drawing stood out. The detail in the drawing is fantastic and it highlights a major concern on our roads and the message is clear and relevant: that all motorists need to slow down and drive within the speed limit. I wish to also congratulate the other prize winners and particularly at this time, urge all parents and guardians everywhere to build on the work being done in our schools by demonstrating safe and responsible road use at all times.”


Runners Up Prizes:


Ella Doherty, Scoil Eoghain, Moville.

William Magee, Robertson NS, Stranorlar.

Rosie Corkery, Little Angels Special School, Letterkenny. 

Darcey Nash, Scoil Mhuire, Milford.

Zach Ferry, Scoil Cholmcille, Drumman, Ramelton.


Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO