Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Your Council > Communications Office > Press Releases Jan 2020 > Ella’s entry highlights need for everyone to `Be S

17/02/20 Ella’s entry highlights need for everyone to `Be Seen` in Road Safety Art Competition

 Finn Harps poster winner comp

Overall Winner Ella Willshire, Holy Family NS, Ballyshannon with Kyle Willshire, Brian O’Donnell, Road Safety Officer, John Campbell, Finn Harps Schools Programme, James Rodgers, Finn Harps Youth Development Officer, Dessie McGlinchey, Finn Harps Schools Programme.


The Donegal Road Safety Working Group and Finn Harps Football Club announced the winners of their recent Primary School Road Safety Art competition on Friday night at Finn Park.


The winning drawing was submitted by Ella Willshire, Holy Family NS, Ballyshannon.


The winning artwork will feature as an advertising hoarding promoting Road Safety in Finn Park for the 2020 season. The presentation of prizes took place at Finn Harps first home game of the new season against Sligo Rovers in Ballybofey on Friday night 14 February. Finn Harps won the game 1-0, which is great start to the new season and all the winners present had a great evening as guests of Finn Harps.


The competition was open to all Primary Schools in Donegal and once again received a huge amount of entries.


Donegal Road Safety Officer, Brian O’Donnell, praised all the schools for their participation in this very important Road Safety initiative. He said, ‘I would like to thank all the schools for getting behind this exciting competition. The entries received were of a very high standard, but Ella’s stood out. The detail in the drawing is fantastic and it highlights a major concern on our roads and the message is clear and relevant. We all need to wear high viz clothing on our roads whether you are a runner, walker or cyclist. I wish to also congratulate all the category winners. I urge parents and guardians everywhere to build on the work being done in our schools by demonstrating safe and responsible road use.  It is fantastic that the teachers and pupils got so strongly involved and it is my hope that each pupil who took part will have an increased awareness of road safety as a result’.


The category prizes were awarded to –


Caitlin McLaughlin, Scoil Treasa Naofa, Malin Town.

Ciara Larkin, Holy Family NS, Ballyshannon.

Vanessa Cuffe, St. Mura’s NS, Tooban, Burnfoot.

Tatum Ptasinsk, St. Joseph’s NS, Rathmullan. 

Emma Nic Suibhne, Scoil Naomh Dúigh, Anagaire.

Anika Benny, Scoil Mhuire gan Smál, Letterkenny.

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO