Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Services > Motor Tax

Motor Tax

General Data Protection Regulations – Privacy Notice, Motor Tax
Donegal County Council requires customers’ to provide certain personal data in order to carry out or legislative and administrative functions for Motor Tax on behalf of Department of Transport, Tourism & Sport (DTTAS). Donegal County Council will treat all information and personal data you provide as confidential, in accordance with General Data Protection Regulations and Data Protection legislation.

Your personal data may be exchanged with the agencies listed below under the remit of DTTAS in accordance with law.

  • An Garda Siochana – criminal investigations.
  • State Agencies – civil & criminal investigations e.g. non payment of toll fees.
  • Solicitors – civil & criminal investigations e.g. road traffic accidents.
  • Local Authorities – civil & criminal investigations e.g. litter fines.

Full details of DTTAS Data Protection policy setting out how we will use your personal data as well as information regarding your rights as a data subject are available at Details of this policy are also available in hard copy upon request by emailing [email protected] or in writing to Data Protection Unit, Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport, Leeson Lane, Dublin D02 TR60 

Opening Hours:

The Motor Tax Office is open to the public on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9.15am to 12.15pm and from 1.15pm to 3.00pm.  You can renew your Motor Tax online at or alternatively post your application to your local Motor Tax Office.


Locations of Motor Tax Offices

  Carndonagh P.S.C., Malin Road, Carndonagh

  Donegal Town P.S.C., Drumlonagher, Donegal Town

  Dungloe P.S.C., Gweedore Road, Dungloe

  Letterkenny P.S.C., Neil T.Blaney Road, Letterkenny

  Lifford, 3 Rivers Centre

  Milford P.S.C., Main Street, Milford


email: [email protected]


Tel. No: 074-9153900 



Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • NRDO European Project Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO