Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Services > Fire Service

Donegal Fire Service

Photo of the Letterkenny Fire Station

Donegal County Council provides a fire and rescue service from 16 fire stations. 15 of these stations are located on the mainland and 1 on Arranmore Island. We respond to approximately 1,000 emergency calls each year. Emergencies range from domestic and commercial fires, road traffic collisions, gorse fires, chemical incidents and other hazardous occurrences within the county.


Each Fire Station has 9 retained fire fighters, except for Letterkenny and Buncrana who have 15 and there are approximately 150 dedicated part-time retained fire fighters in Donegal.


Each fire fighter undertakes a three-week recruitment course on basic fire fighting. This is followed by a two-week course on the use of the breathing apparatus, which is an essential part of the fire fighter's safety equipment. Training of the retained fire fighter is continuous, and is undertaken during bi-monthly drill nights at his local fire station and ongoing refresher training courses.

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • NRDO European Project Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO