Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Services > Roads Service > Road Safety and Education > Donegal Road Safety Group

Donegal Road Safety Group

Donegal Road Safety Working Group



RSA Leading Lights in Road Safety Award 2015

Pictured receiving the award for the Donegal Road Safe Show is James McKenna, Donegal Fire Service, Dr. Gerry Lane, A&E Consultant, Letterkenny University Hospital, Brian O'Donnell, Road Safety Officer, Liz O'Donnell, Chairperson RSA, Richard Alcorn, Sgt. Mark Traynor, Buncrana Garda Station, Paddy Doherty & Liam Duffy, HSE Ambulance Service.


The Donegal Road Safety Working Group was founded in 1997 and included members of Donegal County Council (including the Fire Service), An Garda Síochána, North West Health Board and the National Safety Council.

The original mission statement was;

           'To reduce the number and severity of road crashes in County Donegal.'

The main activities of the group include; 

  • Collision Prevention Programme
    • Joint meetings between the Garda and Donegal County Council on an electoral area basis to address local road safety issueRoad Safety Programmes in schoo
    • Multi agency presentations in schools
  • Primary School Road Safety Art competition
  • Donegal Road Safe Show
  • Supply of educational materials 
  • Road Safety Public Awareness campaigns
    • Radio and newspaper campaigns
    • Distribution of Leaflets
    • Benny the Bear safety mascot 

Current membership includes; 

  • Donegal County Council including Fire Service
  • Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII)
  • An Garda Síochána
  • Health Service Executive including Ambulance Service
  • Road Safety Authority
  • Donegal ETB
  • Pro Social Ireland
  • North West Alcohol Forum Ltd 
  • Donegal Youth Service
  • Foroige


Road Safety Plan 2010-2015

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • NRDO European Project Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO