Donegal County Council Logo


Home > Culture > Heritage > Natural Heritage

Natural Heritage

Glenveagh National Park


Under the Heritage Act (1995), natural heritage is composed of fauna, flora, wildlife habitats, geology, landscapes, seascapes and inland waterways. County Donegal has a rich and diverse natural heritage. Several habitats and species are considered to be of national and European significance and are designated for conservation purposes. The three main types of designation sites are Natural Heritage Area (NHA), Special Area of Conservation (SAC) and Special Protection Area (SPA). Natural Heritage Areas are the primary national designation under the Wildlife Amendment Act (2000)


Natural Heritage Areas (NHA)


Special Areas of Conservation (SAC) 


Special Protection Areas (SPA)


National Parks


Ramsar Sites


Nature Reserves


Wildfowl Sanctuaries


Geological Sites 


Trees of Ireland


Biodiversity Species List for County Donegal



Check here to view the Natural Heritage around you


Natural heritage map