Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Services > Planning > Development Plans, Built Heritage including Grants > Record of Protected Structures Proposed Additions

Additions to the Record of Protected Structures June/July 2017


Background to Proposed Additions

Over the last 5 years the Department of the Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs has been rolling out the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (NIAH) for Donegal. The NIAH Survey of Donegal identifies, records and evaluates post-1700 architectural heritage, uniformly and consistently as an aid in its protection and identifies a representative selection of architectural heritage of Donegal. The survey has been sent to the Council in phases and includes more than 3000 individual structures although it should be noted that the survey is still being completed in relation to the rural parts of the Glenties and former Milford Municipal District areas. The Minister is using this NIAH process as the mechanism to make recommendations to Donegal County Council concerning the addition to its Record of Protected Structures of particular structures or specific parts or features thereof as per her entitlements under Section 53 of the Planning and Development Acts.



Process undertaken

In March 2017, Donegal County Council initiated a programme of proposed additions to the Record of Protected Structures and this marked the first stage of acting on the recommendations of the Minister. This included undertaking the statutory notification procedures and consultation period as provided for under sections 54 and 55 of the Planning and Development Acts 2000-2017. 


Having considered the submissions/observations received during the consultation period and any observations of the Minister, Donegal County Council have now decided on whether or not to add the structures to the Record of Protected Structures through their Municipal District meetings in June and July 2017.  Full details and particulars of the structures added to the Record of Protected Structures can be viewed by clicking the links below or in hard copy in the Council's offices and libraries. 



Section 1 Donegal Municipal District Area

Section 1a) Ballyshannon 

Section 1b) Donegal Town

Section 1c) Killybegs

Section 1d) Donegal MD Area Remainder

Section 2 Glenties Municipal District Area

Section 2 Glenties Municipal District Area


Section 3  Stranorlar Municipal District Area

Section 3a) Ballybofey-Stranorlar


Section 4  Inishowen Municipal District Area

Section 4a) Carndonagh

Section 4b) Inishowen MD Area Remainder


Section 5 Letterkenny Municipal District Area 

Section 5 Letterkenny Municipal District Area







Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO